
Litmos Community Team (Litmos Team) asked a question.
How do I assign courses to people who have not done it?
Originally asked by a community member in the Litmos Community forum on 29 July 2026.
Courses are created and I have bulk uploaded names of those who have completed them. How do I mass assign it to those who haven't done the course so that those who I have marked as completed don't receive it again? I want to use the active directory within Litmos instead of uploading names of people to assign to.
Reply from the Litmos team, 31 July 2026
Hi Carmen,
I've consulted with support and received the following guidance:
The system will only allow one assignment per course, unless the admin resets the completion status of existing users.
Let's say Course A is assigned to a group of people, and the admin has marked them all as completed.
Then, if Course A is assigned to everyone in the business, only people that didn't have Course A previously would be 'assigned'.
Previously assigned and previously completed people will not get 'another assignment'. Previously completed users will remain completed.
I hope this answers your query.
Thanks,
Marty