Litmos Community Team (Litmos Team) asked a question.

Reassign Courses

Originally asked by a community member in the Litmos Community forum on 28 August 2025.

We have a group of users who need to retake a certain course but we want to retain all of the certificates in Litmos. When I edit the results it shows the original assigned date. Is there a way to reassign and not lose the original certificate?


  • Reply from a community member, 29 August 2025

    You may be better off creating a new version of the course they need to retake and copying the modules from the original course into the new course. We do this at my organization. Our developers have to take a secure coding practices course, which started in 2024. We created a 2025 version of the same course so that they keep their 2024 completion/achievement intact.

    Here is some documentation on copying modules from an existing course into a new course, which is what you can use when creating the new version without having to recreate the modules from scratch - Copying Modules To Copy, Link, Or Mirror - Litmos

    Expand Post
  • Litmos Community Team (Litmos Team)

    Reply from the Litmos team, 22 September 2025

    Hi Callie. In short - certificates from previous completions are not removed when reassigning... From our Support team:

    Any certificate/achievement granted to a user will be retained if user retakes a course.

    So if I completed the course in 2023 and there was a certificate template allocated to the course at the time of completion, I would have an achievement in my profile for 2023, plus a certificate download link.

    If I retake the course in 2025 and complete it, I will get another achievement record, and another certificate download link. The 2023 one will remain against my profile.

    Cheers,

    Grover.

    Expand Post