
Litmos Community Team (Litmos Team) asked a question.
Originally asked by a community member in the Litmos Community forum on 5 May 2025.
I'm 99% sure this isn't possible based on the documentation I've read through, but is anyone aware if it's possible to lock in the course completion percentage and date when a learner completes a course the first time?
Our training materials are designed to be reviewed multiple times, so it's common for learners to complete a course and then go back and review video content again later. If they completed a course, this recalculates the percentage and if they do not complete the module(s) again then the course completion drops below 100%.
Based on an article in the Help section, I'm pretty sure this is working as intended. But has anyone found a way to keep course completion at 100% even if a learner goes back and restarts a module (but doesn't complete it)?
Reply from a community member, 6 May 2025
I also don't think there is a way to prevent this completely unfortunately.
If using SCORM there is an option to enable 'Review Mode' in the module setting, so the learner will have the option to 'Start Over' or 'Review Content'. By selecting the latter it won't reset the enrolment.
If it's more about impacting reporting data, by reporting on achievement date vs completion date, that will reflect who has completed the course (& when) regardless of their current enrolment status, even if it's showing as Not Started. Though I get some learners don't like to see not started for courses they have already done!
Another idea, albeit a little clunky - but could you duplicate the module in the course, make it optional and force learners to complete modules in a set order. Then they couldn't access the optional module until they completed the required module (and thus completed the course). They could revisit the optional module as often as they liked without impacting the completion % ... but you'd have to instruct learners not to revisit the original module to avoid impacting the completion status. Not ideal but just an idea.
Reply from a community member, 6 June 2025
Hi Alex, we wanted the same functionality so the way we solved it was to create a duplicate of the course and saved it in the content library. It was kind of a pain to do since I had to modify the CAT file to "unlock" everything since we wanted learners to access any part of the course and then download instead of publish the modified CAT file. Then I uploaded the modified CAT file and made it available in the content library. I added "content library version" in the course name to differentiate it from the original course.
Hope that helps!
Reply from a community member, 9 June 2025
Thanks! We have a mix of Content Author (where I have review mode enabled) and then video modules that do not use CAT. The video modules are the biggest culprit, but I'm sure there's a mix of options available to get the reporting relatively accurate.
Reply from a community member, 9 June 2025
Thank you!