Litmos Community Team (Litmos Team) asked a question.

Does anyone know if any changes to CAT module do not require clicking Publish?

Originally asked by a community member in the Litmos Community forum on 16 June 2025.

Hello! I am curious if there are any changes to a CAT module that don't require clicking the Publish button? As an example, if I update the Resources in the introduction section of the module, is that automatically available to learners or do I need to click Publish to make the changes to Resources available to learners?


  • Reply from a community member, 23 June 2025

    Same question I have. Also if I edit the video after making it active does it change the user data I mean delete the old one

  • Reply from a community member, 23 June 2025

    Based on my brief testing, I think clicking Publish is required for any change, big or small. Updating resources or glossary isn't visible unless I publish, etc.

  • Reply from a community member, 23 June 2025

    I don't believe anything is deleted when editing a video after making it active, just overwritten. If I am a learner and watch a video you uploaded, and then you upload a new video over the existing video I watched previously, I believe my course progress does not change even though the content has changed. However, I could always be wrong (I just haven't seen this happen previously).

    If you add one or more new pages in a course, that should update the course progress for learners as there is new content (the new page) that had not been viewed previously.

    Expand Post
  • Reply from a community member, 7 July 2025

    That's what I confirmed as well. Also keep in mind that anyone currently 'in progress' will be reset and will need to start over, which makes it challenging to update while people are still working on it."

  • Reply from a community member, 11 July 2025

    Good reminder! I try to minimize changes after making the course public, but it's easy to forget that adding a single element will update course progress.