Litmos Community Team (Litmos Team) asked a question.

How to recover a deleted course and its modules?

Originally asked by a community member in the Litmos Community forum on 20 August 2025.

In my content library

I had a course that was called Step 4,

It was deleted probably by accident by another Administrator, how can I recover the full course and its contents inside or only its contents? Modules ?

What interesses me it is all the information inside the modules itself.


  • Reply from a community member, 20 August 2025

    I believe that once deleted it is no longer recoverable. I have made this same mistake and it was a costly one as I had to recreate.

  • Reply from a community member, 20 August 2025

    Yes that is the case. I would always deactivate a user for a period of X. Delete is a forever thing unforuantely.

  • Reply from a community member, 21 August 2025

    Oh, Thank you. That is so BAD! Any company dealing with client and companies and big data like that should have a way of recover or at least have a month where things get moved to a BIN before get permanently deleted. That is definitely something Litmos must work on to improve!

  • Reply from a community member, 21 August 2025

    I am not aware of a recovery option, but you could try reaching out to your rep at Litmos to see if they do backups. There's a chance there is a backup but it's not something that can be done in the UI.