Team Leads/Team Admins will now have access to the Reporting Engine. Their access to the Reporting engine can be enabled via the roles and permissions.
Roles and Permissions
If the Reporting Engine permission is turned on for the Team Lead or Admin, the Reporting Engine button will be visible to the Team Lead or Admin on the Reports page. By default, this setting will be unchecked for Team Leads/Admins.
Which reports will Team Leads/Admins have access to?
Initially, the team leads/admins will have access to the Team Course Results/Team Learning Path results reports.
What data will the Team Leads/Admins have access to?
Team leaders now have the ability to report across multiple teams that they are a team lead/admin of, provided they have the specific permissions to the team and to the reporting engine.
Team leaders will see all courses and learning paths associated with users of the teams where they are a team lead/admin. They will see content assigned at the team and/or individual level.
How will the Save/Edit/Share feature work for Team Leads/Admins?
We recognize the importance of extending the save/edit/share functionality to the Team leads/admins while maintaining the access to the relevant data for the Team leaders/admins.
- Team leads/admins can now save and share reports with other team leaders provided they have the necessary access.
- Administrators/Account can also share reports with Team leaders when they select specific Teams in the report.
Sharing the reports with other team leaders/admins depends on the team specific filter selections made in the reports.
- Sharing with Specific Team Selections: If the team lead/admin selects specific teams in the report, then the report can be shared in either edit or view only mode with only team leads/admins who belong to all the teams selected in the report. When shared in Edit mode with other Team Leads/Admins, only the creator can edit the teams selected in the report. All other fields/filters can be edited.
- Sharing without a Team Selection (All Teams): We would like you to have the option to share the reports without having to worry about selecting specific teams and ensuring those Team Leads/Admins have access to the data. As such, if the team lead/admin selects All teams, then the report can be shared with Team Leads/Admins that belong to at least one of the Teams that the creator of the report is a Team lead/admin of. Please note, this can only be shared in view only because the “All teams” will be dynamically determined based on the user or Team lead/admin accessing the report. If the admin/account owner does not select specific teams, they will not have the option to share with team leads/admins.
How will the Clone functionality work for Team Leads/Admins?
Cloning these reports will copy all the fields and filters but will not copy the email and share options. The Team Leader/Admin who clones the report can actually edit the teams and filters based on the teams he has access to.
- Sharing with Specific Team Selections: If a report is cloned by Team leads/Admins with whom the reports were shared with, they can edit the teams and filters based on the teams that they have access to. If the Team Lead/Team Admin tries to clone a report he/she no longer has access to, then the clone will not be allowed and it will throw an error message stating "You no longer have access to the Report".
- Sharing without a Team Selection (All Teams): If a report is cloned by Team leads/Admins with whom the reports were shared with, they can edit the teams and filters based on the teams that they have access to. In this case, the Team Lead/Team Admin can always clone a report because this will dynamically determine the Teams (ALL Teams) that the Team Lead/Admin has access to.
Who can the Team Leads/Admins select as email recipients for these reports?
Emails of Team leads/Admins or learners will be available only if those users belong to all the teams selected in the report.
What happens if the Team Lead/Admin no longer has access to the Teams/Reporting?
The following scenarios will result in the removal of access to the Reporting Engine reports for Team Leads/Admins:
1) Removed from a team
2) Demoted to a user of the team
3) Revoked Reporting Engine access based on roles and permissions
4) Removed from the list of individuals the report is shared with
When the report is shared with specific selected teams, and access from a team is removed for one or more of the team leads/admins with whom the report is shared with, the report cannot be viewed, edited or cloned by those team leads/admins. A warning message will be displayed to those team leads/admins that should no longer be accessing the report.
When the report is shared with All Teams as a filter option, the report can still be viewed or cloned even if a team lead/admin has been removed from a team because the teams visible to the team lead/admin will only be those that he/she has access to. However, if reporting engine access is revoked, then the report can no longer be viewed, cloned and an error message will be displayed to the user.