SAP Litmos Log retention policy has been updated:
System log and operation data is frequently purged for system maintenance and performance. Following are the new default retention period for logs.
Logs are Available for the below mentioned period after which they are archived (Hidden from UI) for up to 2 years
|Login Activity||1 year|
|Assignment Logging||60 days|
|Setting Logging||60 days|
|Content Logging||60 days|
|File Upload Logging||60 days|
|API call Logs||7 days|
The logs are available in the UI for 60 days after which it will be archived for up to 2 years and then be deleted permanently after that.
By Enabling Log retention policy, Organizations can override the above mentioned default Log retention policy for their account. When enabled the logs of all users will be retained for the defined retention period i.e logs older than 60 days will be archived on our severs for up to a the defined retention period.
Note: The retention period will only apply from the day the settings was enabled.
Logs will purge every 24 hours for all qualifying logs.
Where to enable data security settings for DPP and GDPR
Opt-in controls are available to enable Log retention policies with every account. These settings can be enabled by Account owners from Account > Data security settings. Note: The minimum retention period is set at 6 months. The retention can be set in months or years
Who are affected by enabling Log retention policy
- Logs of all system users that fall outside the Org defined retention window will be purged as per the log retention policy settings.
- Blocked user’s logs will not be purged , due to legal reasons as an example.
- The following Logs that will be affected as per the retention policy are
- Login Activity
- Email/ Messages
- User and Account profile updates
- Report logging
When no Log retention policy is defined for an organisation the system default retention period will apply. Note: The actual data is not affected just the event log is purged.
Is there a separate log to track log policy setting updates
There will be new History log that will capture field level changes to the retention policy settings and data purge details. This log is only available for the Account owners under Account > Data security > History Logs. Account owners can also download all the data in a CSV