Control whether or not a learner will be able to see that a course has been updated since the learner has completed it. If a module has been set to allow the learner to see that the course has been updated, it will be marked with an orange “Course Updated” tag and be moved back to the learner’s to do list.
Being able to control if the learner can see that a course has been updated may be beneficial when:
- Fixing typos
- Updating content (videos, audio, SCORM etc.)
- Adding additional modules to the course
Mark/ Unmark a course to be seen by a learner as updated
Activate this feature by opening a module and checking/ unchecking the last box on the form, “Change affects up-to-date status and the course will be placed back on Learner’s To-Do list”(shown in the SCORM module in the image below).
By checking this box, the learner will be able to see the course has been flagged as updated and the course will appear in their To-Do list.
By unchecking this box, the learner will not be able to see the course has been flagged as updated and the course will it will not appear in their To-Do list.
For Assessments and Surveys, this feature can be found at the bottom of each question.
How this feature affects reports
If a module has been marked to not show the update to learners, it will not appear as updated in reports either.
This is specifically important to be aware of when a new module is added to a course and the box is not checked. In the case that a learner has been marked complete but a module has been added with the option to not show the changes to the learner, the report will show the course has been completed, however, if you view the report for the modules that the learner has completed, the new modules will appear as incomplete.
For more on Course settings, check out the "How To: Manage General Course Settings" course in Litmos Dojo.